top of page
Search
  • Katherine mcashan

Impossible project

The name "impossible Project" was given a whole new meaning this week in digital desgin class. It started a fun project inteded to push the limits of what we have learned so far in class but it just got alot trickier, Making the transition from working in a classroom to working alll online from home has been interesting. I dont have the acsess to the same tools at home that i had acsess to in the classroom, so this week has been focused on how to complete the impossibel project at home. For my imposible project I am further exploring the inquiry, Scan Print and Hack. A few weeks ago when we started talking about the project in class, i was really excited about the idea of using one of the large printers that we have avaliable to us in the calssroom to print my final proejct at a much larger scale then my basic printer at home will allow. Since transitioning to all online classes i have had to terms with the fact that i needed to change up my visoin for my final product and presentation.



 

The Photoshoot


I decided that i wanted to shoot a serious of portrait shots to hack so i set up a photoshoot and took a few pictures of my sister to use as samples for the project.

I wanted to keep it rally sinmple and focus in on the face becuase I think that is gonna have the most interesting results when i go in and start altering the code of the image for the hacking process. Originally i chose to edit the photos black and white becuase i like the simplicity of it but as i was editing i did like how the photos looked in color as well so i think i will edit both copies during the hacking process and see which version i like the best to turn in for my final presentation.


 

editing process


I edit pretty hevily in lightroom becuase I really like to see how muh i can change the images. I added alot of texture and calrity to the black and white photos to bring out the small details. I really like the simplicity of black and white photos it alows smaller details and highlights to to stand out. For the original colored versions of the photos I brought up the vibrancy and enhanced the pink and red tones so that the hair would stand out alot becuase i think thats gonna end up looking really cool wheni start rearanging the photo during the hacking process.






 

What comes next?


My next step in the impossible project is going to be to start rearanging the code in order to distrort the image. I am really excited to see how far i can take this project, I have had alot of fun so far with editing and im really excited to see how it is going to turn out when i start to distort the images. I want to see what i can do in photo shop as well to see how far i can change the image from the original look.







11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page